Day 10: A BL Mangaka You Just Can’t Get Yourself to Like.

image

Hanamura Ichika. Alright, I don’t dislike her, just don’t care for her work. She hasn’t released that many works, nor have they all been translated. But I still can’t get myself to like them. It’s mainly her artwork that irks me, but her story lines aren’t anything to write home about either. The eyes that she draws remind me of Vampire Knight, but I only like them in Vampire Knight. Her ukes look anorexic and extra feminine at times. Also the way the hair is drawn, it looks stringy. The mouths bug me, even the blush marks look too intense (all the time). The one thing I do like about her artwork is the collarbones. I kind of liked the first story in Kimi wa Amai Amai… a little bit and the second story was ‘eh’, but the third story just ruined it all for me. I’m getting irritated just thinking about it. Unless I hear how amazing the story line in another one of her works is, I won’t read it.

Leave a Reply

