Day 6: The Reason You Love Yaoi.

Let’s see if I can tackle this answer. It’s more of an understanding to me, but if I had to place some kind of reason, I’d say the forbidden love. It’s just something that pulls you in, probably because it’s taboo. So many of the characters in yaoi have to over come a great deal to be with the one they love too. Clearly, yaoi isn’t (almost ever) realistic, but that’s the point. It’s fantasy. Great hot, steamy, sweetly romantic, sometimes tragic, and many times comedic fantasy. Every now and then it has it’s moments where something very realistic does happen.

image

Yeah, moments like that (n_n). I remember the first time I watched yaoi. I bet you do too. You won’t forget your first. Mine was very late at night, thankfully. YouTube led me to this guilty pleasure. After watching a Black Butler related video, one of the thumb nails in the recommended side bar had a ‘person’ with long hair fiercely blushing while being kissed by a guy. My heart fluttered slightly, since I had to find out just who was blushing so fiercely. The video was an AMV of Koisuru Boukun (The Tyrant Falls in Love) and turns out that ‘person’ was a guy. Didn’t even know what yaoi was until that video. Curiosity took over. I had to watch the OVAs. It was a difficult search to find them translated though. A good few laughs into the first one. Then it got to the more explicit part, as soon as Morinaga touched Tatsumi’s crotch…

image

I don’t think I was fully prepared for what I was witnessing, haha. What was seen could not be unseen. Then rape, my least favorite thing about Tyrant. Even though the first anything yaoi I watched had a rape, the taboo of forbidden love had already grasped me. I watched a few more, then took the change to reading. I haven’t looked back sense. I’ve read some really great titles with amazing story lines and fantastic art. My face doesn’t quite turn as awfully red as it did way back when, but I still have those days. Some of those explicit scenes just get so…

image

Well now. I’ve written a good deal for this answer, didn’t intend on writing so much. Anyway, that’s about all I got for today’s answer.

Leave a Reply

